The Senior Award winners get honored at the Red and White Gala May 14


With the 2012-13 year almost at a close, this week’s Bronco Weekly Sports Wrap is an EYEBRONCO special featuring award winners from the Senior Awards held at the first annual Red and White Gala. The Santa Clara Athletics Department and the Bronco Bench Foundation recently held their first annual Red And White Gala that combined celebrating and honoring benefactors as well as seniors.

At the Red and White Gala, the Senior Awards were given out by the Athletic Department.

Henry Schmidt Award (1 recipient) Named in honor of a former head athletics trainer, Henry was a dedicated and inspirational member of Santa Clara Athletics for more than 50 years. The Henry Schmidt Award is given annually to the school’s top senior female athlete from the sports of basketball, soccer or volleyball.

2013 Winner: Meleana Shim (Women’s Soccer)

Victor Corsiglia Award (1 recipient) Victor Corsiglia was a long-time supporter of Santa Clara Athletics from the 1950’s through the 1970’s. He is best known for his big barbeques, which he put on by himself for over 20 years. The Victor Corsiglia Award is given annually to the school’s top senior male athlete from the sports of baseball, basketball or soccer.

2013 Winner: Kevin Foster (Men’s Basketball)

Pat Malley Awards for Men and Women (2 recipients) Pat Malley was the embodiment of Santa Clara Athletics for many years. A legendary football coach and athletics director for 26 years, he is best known for his amazing dedication and commitment to students and athletes. The Pat Malley Award is presented annually to one male and one female senior athlete who best demonstrate the qualities or attitude, character, desire, competitive spirit and the will to excel both on and off the field of play.

2013 Female Winner: Lauren Matheson (Women’s Soccer)

2013 Male Winner: Raymond Cowels III (Men’s Basketball)

James D. Farwell Awards for Men and Women (2 recipients) James Farwell was founder and long-time coach of the Santa Clara University Men’s Rowing program. The James D. Farwell Award is awarded annually to one male and one female senior athlete from the sports of cross country, golf, rowing, softball, tennis, track & water polo who best combine academic and athletic excellence.

2013 Male Winner: Tom Pham (Men’s Tennis)

2013 Female Winner: Kelly Lamble (Women’s Tennis)

Jim Jennings Award (2 recipients) Jim Jennings, or “J.J.” as he is commonly known, served as a volunteer in the Santa Clara Athletics Department for more than 20 years. The Jim Jennings Award is presented annually to a male and female senior non-athlete most distinguished for unselfish and loyal service to the Athletics Department. Candidates eligible for this award may be team managers, student trainers or student assistants in media relations, marketing, game management, facilities or other Athletics Department units.

2013 Male Winner: Brandon Rebboah (Media Relations)

2013 Female Winner: Candice Sanchez (Marketing)

Carroll Williams Award (1 recipient) The Carroll Williams Award, is awarded to a senior athlete who best demonstrates academic and athletic excellence while making an outstanding contribution in the area of community service.

2013 Winner: Carissa Theis (Softball)

DJ Frandsen Award (1 recipient) The DJ Frandsen Award, in honor of the former Men’s Basketball team manager and athletic supporter, is given to a male or female senior athlete who has used courage, perseverance, and spirit to overcome adversity and now serves as a role model for hope and inspiration for others to follow.

2013 Winner: Noelani Viloria (Women’s Basketball)

Senior Academic Award: Male and Female Individual

2013 Female Winner: Ashley Armstrong (Women’s Basketball)

2013 Male Winner: Kevin Oliver (Cross Country/Track)

Congratulations Broncos!